skip to content
Pioneers of science : Nobel prize winners in physics Preview this item
ClosePreview this item

Pioneers of science : Nobel prize winners in physics

Author: Robert L Weber; J M A Lenihan
Publisher: Bristol : Institute of Physics, ©1980.
Edition/Format:   Print book : Biography : EnglishView all editions and formats
You are not connected to the University of Maryland, College Park network. Access to online content and services may require you to authenticate with your library. Off -Campus Access (log in)
Getting this item's online copy... Getting this item's online copy...

Find a copy in the library

Getting this item's location and availability... Getting this item's location and availability...


Find it in libraries globally
Worldwide libraries own this item


Genre/Form: Quick Ref. Collection
Additional Physical Format: Online version:
Weber, Robert L., 1913-
Pioneers of science.
Bristol : Institute of Physics, ©1980
Material Type: Biography
Document Type: Book
All Authors / Contributors: Robert L Weber; J M A Lenihan
ISBN: 0854980369 9780854980369
OCLC Number: 8347509
Description: xviii, 272 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Contents: 1901: Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen (German) --
1902: Pieter Zeeman (Dutch), Hendrik Antoon Lorentz (Dutch) --
1903: Antoine Henri Becquerel (French) Pierre Curie (French) / Marie Sklodowska Curie (French, Polish-born) --
1904: John William Strutt, Third Baron Rayleigh (British) --
1905: Philipp Lenard (German, Hungarian-born)--
1906: Sir Joseph John Thomson (British) --
1907: Albert Abraham Michelson (American, German-born) --
1908: Gabriel Lippmann (French, Luxembourg-born) --
1909: Guglielmo Marconi (Italian), Carl Ferdinand Braun (German) --
1910: Johannes Diderik van der Waals (Dutch) --
1911: Wilhelm Carl Werner Otto Fritz Franz Wien (German) --
1912: Nils Gustaf Dalén (Swedish) --
1913: Heike Kamerlingh Onnes (Dutch) --
1914: Max Theodor Felix von Laue (German) --
1915: Sir William Henry Bragg (British), Sir William Lawrence Bragg (British) --
1916: No award --
1917: Charles Glover Barkla (British) --
1918: Max Karl Ernst Ludwig Planck (German) --
1919: Johannes Stark (German) --
1920: Charles-Edouard Guillaume (French) --
1921: Albert Einstein (German) --
1922: Niels Hendrik David Bohr (Danish) --
1923: Robert Andrews Millikan (American) --
1924: Karl Manne Georg Siegbahn (Swedish) --
1925: James Franck (German), Gustav Ludwig Hertz (German) --
1926: Jean Baptiste Perrin (French) --
1927: Arthur Holly Compton (American) / Charles Thomson Rees Wilson (British) --
1928: Sir Owen Willans Richardson (British) --
1929: Louis-Victor Pierre Raymond, Prince de Broglie (French) --
1930: Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman (Indian)--
1931: No award --
1932: Werner Karl Heisenberg (German) --
1933: Paul Adrien Maurice Dirac (British), Erwin Schrödinger (Austrian) --
1934: No award --
1935: Sir James Chadwick (British) --
1936: Victor Franz Hess (Austrian) / Carl David Anderson (American) --
1937: Clinton Joseph Davisson (American), Sir George Paget Thomson (British) --
1938: Enrico Fermi (American, Italian-born) --
1939: Ernest Orlando Lawrence (American). 1940-42: No awards --
Otto Stern (American, German-born) --
Isidor Isaac Rabi (American, Austrian-born) --
1945: Wolfgang Pauli (American, Austrian-born) --
1946: Percy Williams Bridgman (American) --
1947: Sir Edward Victor Appleton (British) --
1948: Baron Patrick Maynard Stuart Blackett (British) --
1949: Hideki Yukawa (Japanese) --
1950: Cecil Frank Powell (British) --
1951: Sir John Douglas Cockcroft (British), Ernest Thomas Sinton Walton (Irish) --
1952: Felix Bloch (American, Swiss-born), Edward Mills Purcell (American) --
1953: Frits Zernike (Dutch) --
1954: Max Born (British, German-born) / Walther Wilhelm George Bothe (German) --
1955: Willis Eugene Lamb Jr (American) / Polykarp Kusch (American, German-born) --
1956: John Bardeen (American), Walter Houser Brattain (American), William Shockley (American) --
1957: Chen Ning Yang (American, Chinese-born), Tsung Dao Lee (American, Chinese-born) --
1958: Pavel Alekseivich Cherenkov (Russian), Ilya Mikhailovich Frank (Russian), Igor Evgenievich Tamm (Russian) --
1959: Owen Chamberlain (American), Emilio Gino Segrè (American, Italian-born) --
1960: Donald Arthur Glaser (American) --
1961: Robert Hofstadter (American) / Rudolf Ludwig Mössbauer (German) --
1962: Lev Davidovich Landau (Russian) --
1963: Eugene Paul Wigner (American, Hungarian-born) / Maria Goeppert-Mayer (American, German-born), J. Hans D. Jenson (German) --
1964: Charles Hard Townes (American), Nikolai Gennadievich Basov (Russian), Alexander Mikhailovich Prokhorov (Russian) --
1965: Richard Phillips Feynman (American), Julian Seymour Schwinger (American), Sin-itiro Tomonaga (Japanese) --
1966: Alfred Kastler (French) --
1967: Hans Albrecht Bethe (American, German-born) --
1968: Luis Walter Alvarez (American) --
1969: Murray Gell-Mann (American) --
1970: Hannes Olof Gösta Alfvén (Swedish) / Louis Eugène Félix Néel (French) --
1971: Dennis Gabor (British, Hungarian-born) --
1972: Leon N. Cooper (American), John Robert Schreiffer (American), John Bardeen (American) --
1973: Leo Esaki (Japanese) / Ivar Giaever (American, Norwegian-born) / Brian David Josephson (British) --
1974: Antony Hewish (British), Martin Ryle (British) --
1975: Aage Niels Bohr (Danish), Ben Roy Mottelson (Danish, American-born), Leo James Rainwater (American) --
1976: Burton Richter (American), Samuel Chao Chung Ting (American) --
1977: John Hasbrouck van Vleck (American) / Sir Nevill Francis Mott (British), Philip Warren Anderson (American) --
1978 Peter Leonidovich Kapitza (Russian) / Arno A. Penzias (American, German-born), Robert Woodrow Wilson (American) --
1979: Steven Weinberg (American), Abdus Salam (Pakistani), Sheldon Lee Glashow (American).
Responsibility: Robert L. Weber ; edited by J.M.A. Lenihan.
Retrieving notes about this item Retrieving notes about this item


User-contributed reviews


Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Close Window

Please sign in to WorldCat 

Don't have an account? You can easily create a free account.